Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
thayerwhite.over-blog.com

Boise State Men's Golf Assistant Coach. Boise State Kinesiology and Athletic Leadership Master's Program. Golf, Boise State, Athletics, Education, Leadership, College Golf

Blog Post 5 - Impacts

            Over the last three weeks, I have learned a lot about myself and my approach to leadership as well as how it is applied in our society.  This class started on July 5th, 2017 and it feels like it has been an entire semester of exposure and knowledge.  Through group discussion, exercises, and open platform conversations, I have been able to get to know the professor as well as many classmates on a level much closer compared to most of my classes during college.  It is a reciprocal sensation – the professor and many of my classmates know Thayer pretty well and therefore the education is that more valuable.  The three weeks have created a bond of trust and familiarity; I feel comfortable to reach out for a question, an opinion, advice or just friendly conversation. 

            There are several aspects of the curriculum and general formatting of the class that made a significant impact on my philosophy of leadership.  There are two big things that have already changed my daily or weekly habits.  First, to take notes on any article or book on a note card that include two or three main takeaways, several direct quotes that made an impact on me, as well as a final critical thought or question.  I used to highlight, circle, or underline a book or article, which did help me to retain some of the information.  However, the ability to have a note card for future reference will be extremely valuable for my future self.  I plan to use the ‘note card’ system after a golf tournament or any other event that is involved with my coaching position. 

            Secondly, I am trying to change the way that email and text are used for my communication.  Email and text is a good way to transfer information and it is almost needed for many things.  However, most of the time, email is the is the easy, lazy, non-genuine, non-authentic way to translate information or thoughts.  For example, if you are working in the same office, why not just walk over and talk rather than type up a generic email.  If you really want the information or thoughts, just call or leave a voicemail.  If you are happy for your friend about their new job, school, relationship status…  just call them.  It shows that you value the person.  In our world, almost everything is email and text.  It is pretty nice to just chat on the phone or catch up in person.  I am not against email or text, but I am trying to make a conscious effort to communicate directly on the phone or in person because everyone received plenty of emails/texts every day. 

            The biggest takeaway on leadership to me is the ability to utilize self-reflection as a powerful tool for leadership.  That doesn’t mean meditating or yoga – but rather uncovering a deeper reason why something is so impactful, influential, or important to you.  Life is complex, but I believe that self-reflection is a helpful way to transform complexities to its simplest form.  To have effective and quality leadership for others, you must have self-understanding of your strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for growth.  I appreciate that this class challenged me to reflect on why I am here, what was the process to get there, and how did influential impacts of my past change who I am now.      

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post