Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
thayerwhite.over-blog.com

Boise State Men's Golf Assistant Coach. Boise State Kinesiology and Athletic Leadership Master's Program. Golf, Boise State, Athletics, Education, Leadership, College Golf

Starting Up at Boise State University

Blog Post 1 – Boise State University

 

          I arrived to Boise, Idaho in the evening of July 2nd and I was extremely excited for my new opportunity at Boise State University.  I am about to become the Assistant Coach for the Men’s Golf Program as well as about to start my Master’s Program titled “Kinesiology and Athletic Leadership.”  The MAL (Master’s Athletic Leadership) program is the ideal situation for me, allowing me to gain invaluable coaching experience while earning a complementary Master’s Degree.  At Boise State, I knew that I was going to be surrounded by peers that will be in a similar location of life with a strong desire to be mentors and leaders within the field of Athletics.  On July 5th, 2017 I officially started as a graduate student as well as the Assistant Golf Coach.  

          Before starting, I recognized that I will learn a lot from an outstanding head coach who supports my educational desires, and that I was going to surrounded by genuine and motivated individuals within the athletic department.  On the academic side however, I was a more unsure what to expect.  What does “KIN-AL 501 Foundation of Athletic Leadership” really mean? How much work is required to pack in a 2.5 weeks masters class?  I wasn’t concerned, I knew that I had taken some difficult classes during undergrad at Berkeley - the last thing I wanted to do was to get behind of work!

          The first two days of the MAL program suddenly made a huge impact on my demeanor in a positive way.  The literature I was reading was a mixture of styles (such as research and interviews, business/corporate world, and short articles) that all felt very applicable to my current situation.  One of the first readings was “Shut Up and Listen (And Other Advice for First-Time Leader)” and I almost got a small shiver up my spine - it felt that that article was targeted to first time collegiate coaches!  From personal experiences, I knew that observation through opening eyes, mind, and heart would be very beneficial to me to become an effective leader.  Before I started to Boise State, I developed a goal to be “say less and learn more” mentality and I thought that may be is a good place to start.  Within two days, several readings and classroom philosophy strongly reconfirmed and enhanced one of my leadership goals.

          Another first reaction to the first two days of the program was the amount of personal reflection (via readings) and group conversation (in the classroom) that was incorporated to the class.  I really enjoy that aspect of critical thinking.  Personally, I think that encouraged self-reflection is one of the best ways to learn.  There are no “right” or “wrong” answers, but rather challenging oneself to think reflectively upon yourself.  Thinking about your attitude, goals and reasoning behind it is imperative.  More importantly, how to translate or communicate those thoughts to my peers or an audience.

         It is very interesting to hear and learn from my peers.  What topic is most intriguing to them and how they communicate their thoughts is a great way to enhance my personal understanding.  It is a fantastic way to relate to their specific sport, job and their role within the athletic department.  This curriculum allows me to soak in a multitude of perspectives, experiences and examples that will then prepare me for future situations as a coach.  I encourage everyone to take some time in your week to reflect upon the most influential experiences of your life and examine your core values, and how or why you are in the current situation.  The future is bright!   

 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
L
awesome! keep killing it!
Reply